Connect with us


UEFA EURO 2020 play-off draw – How does it work?

Draw: 22 November 2019

Final draw: 30 November 2019

Semi-finals: 26 March 2020

Finals: 31 March 2020

How does it work?

The UEFA EURO 2020 play-off draw takes place at midday CET on this Friday. The games itself will be played in March 2020. 16 countries will compete for the last 4 qualifying spots for UEFA Euro 2020.

The teams will be selected based on the their performance in the 2018/19 Nations League. The UEFA Nations League group winners will all be involved. However, 20 teams have already qualified via Euro 2020 qualification. So, if a group winner has already qualified, their spot goes to the next best-ranked nation.

Once the 16 nations have been determined, they will be divided in 4 groups. Each group will have its own play-off path. Each route will have 2 single-leg semi-finals and one single-leg final. The better-ranked team, based upon their performance in the UEFA Nations League, will host the semi-final in their own country. The host of the final will be decided by a draw. The winner of each path will then qualify for Euro 2020 and join the 20 nations who have already qualified.

4 paths

Path A: Iceland, Bulgaria/Israel/Hungary/Romania*

Path B: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovakia, Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland

Path C: Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Bulgaria/Israel/Hungary/Romania*

Path D: Georgia, North Macedonia, Kosovo, Belarus

*A draw will decide which of Bulgaria, Israel, Hungary or Romania will fill the empty slot in Path C, and which three go into Path A.

Share this article

Recent Posts

More in Sport