Connect with us
juddmonte international winners


5 best recent winners of the Juddmonte International

This week sees the ever-popular Ebor meeting at York and the four-day event kicks off on Wednesday with the feature race of the whole meeting, the Juddmonte International. With over £550,000 on offer to this year’s winner, seven runners will head to post on Wednesday afternoon and it once again looks like a high-class renewal. In preparation for Wednesday’s clash, we’ve taken a look back at the top 5 winners of the Juddmonte International over recent years.


5 best recent winners of the Juddmonte International


Giants Causeway (2000)

Giants Causeway headed to York in 2000 on the back of victories in the St James’s Palace Stakes, the Eclipse, and the Sussex Stakes. Sent off the 10/11 favourite for the Juddmonte, he was made to battle all the way in one of the most thrilling finishes in the race’s history.

Heading up the straight, the race turned into a battle-royal between Giants Causeway and Kalanisi with Mick Kinane and Pat Eddery throwing everything at their mounts. It was Kinane and the ‘Iron Horse’ that would prevail though, edging out Kalanisi by the shortest of margins to showcase the never-say-die attitude that he was renowned for.



Sakhee (2001)

On paper, the 2001 renewal may not have set the pulse racing but Sakhee put in a stunning effort to slam his rivals by seven lengths in a one-horse race, making him one of the best recent winners of the Juddmonte International.

As a three-year-old, Sakhee had shown plenty of ability – winning the Dante over the same course and distance as the Juddmonte International, before placing 2nd in the Epsom Derby behind Sinndar.

See also  Who would make the all-time Denmark World Cup team?

As a four-year-old though, Sakhee truly excelled, storming home to victory in the Juddmonte before landing a five-length victory in the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe at Longchamp to cement his place as one of the middle-distance greats.




Authorized (2007)

Having won the Derby in June, Authorized then flopped in the Eclipse before bouncing right back to form in the 2007 Juddmonte International.

Authorized faced a high-class field that included the Eclipse winner Notnowcato and Dylan Thomas who won the Irish Champion Stakes and Prix de L’Arc de Triomphe on his next two starts.

Travelling strongly throughout under Frankie Dettori, the pair quickened away in the final furlong to seal victory and show that his Epsom Derby success was no fluke.


Sea The Stars (2009)

2009 saw a summer of equine-domination from Sea The Stars in which he won the 2000 Guineas, the Epsom Derby, the Eclipse, the Juddmonte International, the Irish Champion Stakes, and the Prix de L’Arc de Triomphe.

Trained by John Oxx, his Knavesmire victory saw him see off three Aidan O’Brien trained rivals, running out a comfortable one-length winner from Mastercraftsman.

His York success was one of six Group 1 wins in the summer of 2009 – in three different countries, over four different distances, and on three different types of ground – truly one of the greatest seasons ever and certainly one of the finest ever Juddmonte International winners.




Frankel (2012)

The mighty Frankel arrived at York in 2012 a perfect 12 from 12 and all eyes were on him as he stepped up to beyond a mile for the first time in his career.

See also  Are we entering a new era of super clubs in football?

Sent off the 1/10 favourite, he blew away a top-class field with ease, putting in what might just be his best-ever performance.

Given a patient ride by Tom Queally, Frankel cruised into contention three furlongs out and took it up two furlongs from home, quickening away to defeat Farhh and St Nicholas Abbey by seven lengths.

His victory was not only visually impressive, the clock also showed that the performance was one of the best ever.



You could earn up to £10 (or currency equivalent) in bonus funds by joining Colossus with our New Player Bonus. Click here to join the action.

Recent Posts

colossus bets

More in Racing