Connect with us


How many times have Liverpool won the league?

They’ve finally done it, Liverpool have won the Premier League! After 30 years of hurt Jurgen Klopp led The Red to their first ever Premier League title on Thursday 25th June, after Man City lost to Chelsea and could no longer catch them. However, it certainly isn’t the first time they ever been champions of England. So how many times have Liverpool won the league?

The last time Liverpool won a league title was the 1989/90 season. In those days the English top flight was called the First Division, yet to be renamed as the Premier League which happened in 1992. In fact, Liverpool have been English league champions no less than 19 times in total.

Let’s look at those victories and see how Liverpool’s record compares to other clubs, in particular their biggest silverware rivals Manchester United.


How many times have Liverpool won the league?


30 years of hurt

The last time Liverpool won the league, Virgil van Dijk wasn’t even born, Margaret Thatcher was Prime Minister and the Berlin Wall was still standing. Under Kenny Dalglish, the Merseysiders finished nine points clear of Aston Villa, losing just one match all season, to claim the trophy.

Their star player was rapper turned winger John Barnes, who scored 28 goals throughout the campaign.

In the 30 years since their last win, eight different managers have tried, with varying degrees of success, to end Liverpool’s title drought. They have finished as runners-up on five occasions, most recently in the 2018-19 season.

For many fans Liverpool’s last league title is a lifetime ago but 30 years is by no means the longest gap between league titles. When Blackburn won the Premier League in 1995, it was their first title since 1914, an 81-year gap. Based on their current struggles, it might be the same again until the next one.


All Liverpool’s league titles

The 1980s was Liverpool’s most successful decade and one in which they lifted the First Division trophy no less than six times. Here’s the full list of Liverpool’s title winning seasons.


1900’s (2)

1900–01, 1905–06

1920’s (1)

1921–22, 1922–23

1940’s (1)


1960’s (2)

1963–64, 1965–66

1970’s (5)

1972–73, 1975–76, 1976–77, 1978–79, 1979–80

1980’s (6)

1981–82, 1982–83, 1983–84, 1985–86, 1987–88, 1989–90

2010’s (1)



Which is the most successful club in England?

In the history of English football two clubs stand out when it comes to collecting silverware: Liverpool and Manchester United. But who are the most decorated? At the moment it’s Manchester United who have the edge. Below are the top ten English sides in terms of titles.

Manchester United – 20

Liverpool – 19

Arsenal – 13

Everton – 9

Aston Villa – 7

Sunderland – 6

Chelsea – 6

Manchester City – 6

Newcastle United – 4

Sheffield Wednesday – 4


Most combined silverware

If we look at who has most the won combined silverware, including the league title, FA Cup, League Cup, European Cup, Cup Winners’ Cup and UEFA Cup, Liverpool have the narrowest of advantages with 43 to United’s 42.

If you include the less prestigious Charity Shields and Super Cups into the mix, United have the edge with 64 trophies to Liverpool’s 62.


Liverpool’s silverware stats in major competitions

European Cup / Champions League: 6

1976/77, 1977/78, 1980/81, 1983/84, 2004/05, 2018/19


UEFA Cup: 3

1972/73, 1975/76, 2000/01


European Super Cup: 4

1976/77, 2000/01, 2004/05, 2018/19


Club World Cup: 1



FA Cup: 7

1964/65, 1973/74, 1985/86, 1988/89, 1991/9, 2000/01, 2005/06


League Cup: 8

1980/81, 1981/82, 1982/83, 1983/84, 1994/85, 2000/01, 2002/03, 2011/12



You could earn up to £100 (or currency equivalent) in bonus funds by joining Colossus with our New Player Bonus. Click here to join the action.

Recent Posts